Patiala defeat Jalandhar by Five Wickets in Inter District T-20 Match

Jalandhar winning the toss and electing to bat lost two quick wickets of Pargat singh (5) and Mansab Gill (0) in the space of 3.2 overs before opener Mandeep Singh Sr fresh from his India A stint alongwith Taruwar Kohli put up 72 runs for the 3rd wicket before Taruwar Kohli was cleaned up by Rajwinder Singh for 26 off 27 balls inclusive of one boundary and one six. Mandeep Singh Sr was the 4th man out when he was stumped by wicket keeper Anmol Malhotra off Sukhwinder Singh for a quick fire 65 off 43 balls inclusive of 7 boundaries and 3 huge sixes. Jalandhar innings ended at 137 for 7 in 20 overs. For Patiala Gurvinder Bhullar 2 for 23 and Rajwinder Singh 3 for 26 were the main wicket takers.

Replying Patiala openers Jeevanjot Singh and Ravi Inder Singh put on 56 runs for the first wicket before Ravi Inder Singh was trapped in front by Rahul Sharma for 20 off 20 balls inclusive of 3 boundaries. Jeevanjot went on to compile a half century (55) off 40 balls inclusive 7 boundaries before being caught by Himanshu Satyawan off Taruwar kohli. Karan Kaila hit an unbeaten 26 off 19 balls with 3 boundaries to guide his team to a five wicket victory with one ball to spare. Patiala scored 141 for 5 in 19.5 overs. Patiala got 4 points while Jalandhar got zero. For Jalandhar Rahul Sharma 2 for 25 and Taruwar Kohli 2 for 21 were the main wicket takers.

In the second match played at I.S. Bindra Stadium Mohali, Mohali got the better of Ludhiana by 32 runs and got 4 points while Ludhiana got zero. Mohali won the toss and opted to bat first. Mohali were well served in their cause by opener Uday Kaul (48) off 30 balls with 8 boundaries and Gurkeerat Mann (53) off 33 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries and 2 sixes. Mohali mustered 178 for 7 in the allotted 20 overs. For Ludhiana medium pacer Baltej singh 2 for 38, Nikhil Chaudhary 1 for 37 and Simranjit Singh 1 for 31 were the main wicket takers.

Replying Ludhiana could muster 146 for 4 in the allotted 20 overs. Nikhil Chaudhary unbeaten 58 off 47 balls with 4 boundaries and Sandeep Singh 46 off 32 balls with 6 boundaries and one six were the main batsmen to sustain Ludhiana innings. Sandeep Singh and Nikhil Chaudhary were involved in a 78 runs stand for the 4th wicket. For Mohali Maninder Singh , Jaskaran Singh and Varun Khanna scalped one wicket each.

In the 3rd match played at GMSSS Sector 26 Amritsar defeated Chandigarh by 25 runs to garner 4 points while Chandigarh got zero., Chandigarh won the toss and opted to field. Amritsar scored 161 for 5 in 20 overs. Sharad Lumba 37 off 37 balls with 4 boundaries was caught by Gaurav Puri off Karan Azad. Karan Azad struck another blow when he castled Arush Sabharwal for 5. Then Navneet Virk 33 off 26 balls with 2 boundaries and 2 sixes alongwith Shivluv added 59 runs for the 5th wicket before Navneet Virk was caught by Karan Azad off Rohit. Shivluv remained unbeaten on 34 off 21 balls inclusive of one boundary and 3 sixes while Rohan marwaha was unbeaten on 21 off 10 balls inclusive of 2 boundaries and one six. Their unbeaten partnership for the 6th wicket realized 36 runs in 2.3 overs and took the Amritsar score to 161 for 5 in 20 overs. For Chandigarh Rohit Sharma 3 for 24 and Karan Azad 2 for 18 shared the spoils.

Replying Chandigarh were 136 for 7 in 20 overs falling short of the target by 25 runs. For Chandigarh Jaskaran Singh 39 off 35 balls inclusive off 2 boundaries and 2 sixes, Gaurav Gambhir 23 off 17 balls inclusive of 3 boundaries and Arjit Singh unbeaten 31 off 15 balls with 3 boundaries and 2 sixes were the main run getters. For Amritsar Kamal Passi 2 for 10, Vinay Chaudhary 2 for 24 Shivluv 2 for 20 and Rohit 1 for 34 were the main wicket takers.

Tomorrow is the last day of the T-20 tournament in which two matches will be played at I.S. Bindra Stadium Mohali and One match at GMSSS Sector 26 Chandigarh in the evening.